These is my Words – Nancy E. Turner

Standard

I first read this story in early 2000 – The Millennium. I read it again recently and loved it just as much as I did all those years ago. Based on the real-life exploits of the author’s great-grandmother, this fictionalized diary vividly details one woman’s struggles with life and love in frontier Arizona towards the end of the 19th Century.

This is Sarah’s story. A girl, whose no-nonsense strength draws you in and makes you fall in love with her! Her honesty and outlook on life are lessons in themselves; she inspires and delights.
There are a multitude of themes weaved throughout the story: love (yes, there is a love interest!), empowerment, adventure, motherhood, disappointment, despair, hope, joy and fear. The joys and struggles Sarah experienced throughout her lifetime transcend time and place.

If you would like to meet a real heroine – please, let me introduce you to Sarah! Not only will you fall in love with her, she will help you dig inside and discover your own gold; the hero that resides in us all. These Is My Words wonderfully brings a forgotten world back to life again.

I will leave you with this quote from Sarah:

“Mama told me to make a special point to remember the best times of my life. There are so many hard things to live through, and latching on to the good things will give you strength to endure, she says. So I must remember this day. It is beautiful and this seems like the best time to live and the best place”.

Image

See this review on writing.ie 

Leave a Reply

